NTSE Eligibility Criteria 2022

Every state sets its own eligibility for the NTSE stage 1 examination. However, stage 2 NTSE eligibility will be slated by NCERT. Aspirants should satisfy NTSE eligibility criteria at both stages to appear for the examination. Read below to know the NTSE 2022 eligibility criteria before filling the applications.

NTSE Stage 1 Eligibility Criteria

  • Students currently enrolled in class 10 from any recognized school/board including Sainik Schools, Kendriya Vidyalaya and Navodaya Vidyalaya were eligible to apply for stage 1 of the NTSE exam 2022.
  • States cannot impose domicile restrictions for stage 1, however, they may add additional eligibility conditions such as the qualifying score of the previous class.
  • Students studying from the open board, below 18 years of age, unemployed and appearing in class 10 for the first time are also eligible to appear for NTSE 2022 exam stage 1.
  • Only Indian students are allowed to appear for NTSE stage 1 exam.
  • Students studying outside India can directly appear in stage 2 exam.

NTSE Stage II Eligibility Criteria

In order to appear for the NTSE stage 2 exam, students should qualify the stage 1 or state-level NTSE 2022 exam with the minimum qualifying marks.

For the Continuation of the Scholarship

  • Candidates must be appearing in the class 10 exam for the first time.

  • Some states require candidates to score a minimum of 55 % marks in class 9 to apply for NTSE exam 2022.

  • Indian students studying abroad in Class 10 or equivalent class can directly apply for NTSE stage II. They must obtain at least 60 per cent marks (in aggregate) in class 9th.

NTSE West Bengal Eligibility Criteria

  • A student must have cleared class 9 with 50% for general candidates (with a relaxation of 40% for reserved categories) and currently enrolled in class 10.
  • A student from the open board is also eligible to apply provided they must have scored 50% for general category (with the relaxation of 40% for reserved category) in their previous exams. They also must be below the age of 18 years.
  • Candidates belonging to OBC (non-creamy) as listed in the central list will be treated as OBC here.
  • Candidate must choose the district in accordance to the place of their residence.

NTSE Stage 2 Eligibility Criteria

  • Students who qualify NTSE stage 1 state wise exam are eligible to sit for NTSE stage 2 exam.
  • Every state releases a merit list of students qualified for national level stage 2 exam.
  • Foreign nationals can directly apply for stage 2 exam. They are exempted from stage 1 exam.